Pampoentert – Pumpkin Pie

Pampoen Tert / Pumpkin Pie
Pumpkin Pie / Pampoentert

This is one of my favourite “feel good” recipes.  It is perfect for tea time, as a dessert, a main dish or for the Thanksgiving table.  Of course, it is totally legitimate to have leftovers cold the next morning for breakfast.  My friend Darlene Scott tried this recipe and sent me this photograph.

Bestanddele:
3 k gaar butternut
1 k room
1 k melk
3/4 k meel
3/4 k suiker
2 t bakpoeier
1 t sout
2 eiers
kaneelsuiker (ekstra)

Metode:

  1. Meng droë bestanddele.
  2. Klits eiers, melk en room.
  3. Voeg by meel.
  4. Roer butternut by.
  5. Giet in gesmeerde bak.
  6. Strooi laag kaneelsuiker oor.
  7. Bak teen 180° C tot gaar.

ENGLISH VERSION

Ingredients:
3 Cups Cooked Butternut Pumpkin
1 Cup Cream
1 Cup Milk
3/4 Cup Flour
3/4 Cup Sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
cinnamon sugar to sprinkle on top

Method:

  1. Mix dry ingredients.
  2. Beat eggs, milk and cream.
  3. Add to the dry ingredients.
  4. Add mashed pumpkin.
  5. Pour into greased oven dish.
  6. Sprinkle a layer of cinnamon suger on top.
  7. Bake at 180° C until cooked. (The edges will start to brown and the centre is firm).

6 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Side Dishes

6 responses to “Pampoentert – Pumpkin Pie

  1. Darlene Scott

    It still looks yummy! I wish I still had some pumpkin in the freezer. I’d make it up some quick. ~D

  2. I made this last night, and my dinner guests loved it! Thanks for sharing😉

  3. yum yum this stays my and my families favourite!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

